Thursday, March 24, 2011

Ruby Tuesday , lacking the luster

Yeah Ruby looks nice; it has a good atmosphere in the daytime, pre-show. The sound is good, better than Bernie’s and not to much mindless frat boy action, unless you count the house next door. The place is an IN kind of joint where bands might get booked, but unless you are in the secret circles of hipness in Columbus no one is coming to see you. Example somehow the Andy Shaw band networked and promoted their way into this circle (All those people in his band no wonder) and became some sort of icon for Columbus music (???) and it all happens here (some exceptions at a couple of other bars) . The crowd around the bar will welcome you at first, especially if you are a pretty lady (like me dark hair skinny dress tats),yet if you aren’t hip look out they will smell it on you right over their PBR’s and imported lager in a second. Most people don’t seem to come here for the music, that if you give a chance might discover something outside of the Dead tribute knock offs or even the Andy Shaw band, but mostly they come here to be seen here at the bands gig. The bathrooms are down the stairs and make a lady feel nervous when you’re down there with a button up shirt and jeans hipster male or hard core drugged out hippie/punk kid starring at your chest. The place might think of ways of getting more people in the door so the empty bar at in the basement could open up and give the place a something different then every other bar in Columbus. This is yet another place where a lot of the clients are too cool to pay or watch the talent because there is cable TV on the patio and smoking. Ruby Tuesday is also a place that has been around for awhile and I heard rumors of very famous and iconic underground acts playing here and I just have to ask what happened? Maybe the bar staff could take a tip or two from Ms. Manners and be a little bit less snooty to the locals or older crowds and those crowds could get a little bit more of an opened mind and the hipsters could just try to stop making everything so exclusive, if you can follow my Keller-ish sentences without needing to pause every five words for a period. Some good acts do come through here and it might be a better place if you just came out and stopped worrying about who is playing here, that’s how a scene works not the like clicks that invade to watch their friend’s band and dip after they are finished that inhabit the place now.
2 stars my quest for local original music continues in Columbus good luck kids.
 
1978 Summit St
Columbus, OH 43201 40.0035 -83.0007

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Mavin the Robot vs. NPR

Marvin the Robot answers the NPR’s challenge
Marvin the Robot a three piece from Columbus answered the NPR challenge of creating an album in one month. The album “The New Bottom Line” can be downloaded via band camp at marvintherobot.band camp.com, duh right. You might have seen Marvin The robot around Columbus before and I believe their sound has progressed a little from noise to indie rock. Before you get all ‘isn’t this the kind of music you say is controlled by secret circles and snotty hipsters” on me give the album a chance. Unlike the ultra cool hipster secret circle music the music doesn’t make you feel like an outsider when you listen to it. Of course you might not get it , or rather understand exactly what they are singing about like say in the first track “Esoteric Devices’ but don’t shy away the third track “Two Purple Hearts” will make you feel better giving you something more to relate too, “House won’t burn / Wife won’t Leave “ are lyrics most people can relate to. Getting deeper in the tracks you find some possible angst towards previous mentioned secret circles , obscurest and cock rockers wrapped in some on the spot lyrical writing in “Fake Jazz” ,maybe even calling out some of the older people in Columbus who talk about the good ole’ days and how cool Frank Black is. . The title track gets a little serious and let’s the singer get some more dynamics in. On this album he has a bit of the whiney indie vocal style mixed with what sounds like a Chuck Mosley influence making it likeable and not just pretentious. The guitar work is pretty good but does not stand out too much, somewhere between indie rock and post surf punk while the drums keep it basic. I have a problem with drummers in Columbus and I think that very good drummers are very rare ,some don’t even know you can tune the drum , this drummer is not in that category . Still the drums to me could be tweaked a little bit but that’s just my preference not theirs. For recording inside of a month and on what I think is home equipment I would applaud there efforts if it was still cool to clap your hands or use that sort of expression so I will just say they do rock it a little bit.MTR’s The New Bottom Line has a few surprises in it you might enjoy if you’re an indie hipster or onto noise or just rock. The last few tracks include some electronics and some mellow vocals mixed with rhythmic repetitious noises, representing what I believed to be a more honest picture of the band. You can download there album like I said before via their band camp site and catch them around Columbus and decide for your self ‘
This album gets 4.00 out of 5.00 Sue Stars for rising up to a challenge and making it sound above decent.
http://marvintherobot.bandcamp.com/album/the-new-bottom-line

Monday, March 21, 2011

Marvin The Robot vs. NPR's RPM challenge

Marvin the Robot answers the NPR’s challenge
Marvin the Robot a three piece from Columbus answered the NPR challenge of creating an album in one month. The album “The New Bottom Line” can be downloaded via band camp at marvintherobot.band camp.com, duh right. You might have seen Marvin The robot around Columbus before and I believe their sound has progressed a little from noise to indie rock. Before you get all ‘isn’t this the kind of music you say is controlled by secret circles and snotty hipsters” on me give the album a chance. Unlike the ultra cool hipster secret circle music the music doesn’t make you feel like an outsider when you listen to it. Of course you might not get it , or rather understand exactly what they are singing about like say in the first track “Esoteric Devices’ but don’t shy away the third track “Two Purple Hearts” will make you feel better giving you something more to relate too, “House won’t burn / Wife won’t Leave “ are lyrics most people can relate to. Getting deeper in the tracks you find some possible angst towards previous mentioned secret circles , obscurest and cock rockers wrapped in some on the spot lyrical writing in “Fake Jazz” ,maybe even calling out some of the older people in Columbus who talk about the good ole’ days and how cool Frank Black is. . The title track gets a little serious and let’s the singer get some more dynamics in. On this album he has a bit of the whiney indie vocal style mixed with what sounds like a Chuck Mosley influence making it likeable and not just pretentious. The guitar work is pretty good but does not stand out too much, somewhere between indie rock and post surf punk while the drums keep it basic. I have a problem with drummers in Columbus and I think that very good drummers are very rare ,some don’t even know you can tune the drum , this drummer is not in that category . Still the drums to me could be tweaked a little bit but that’s just my perforce not theirs. For recording inside of a month and on what I think is home equipment I would applaud there efforts if it was still cool to clap your hands or use that sort of expression so I will just say they do rock it a little bit.MTR’s The New Bottom Line has a few surprises in it you might enjoy if you’re an indie hipster or onto noise or just rock. The last few tracks include some electronics and some mellow vocals mixed with rhythmic repetitious noises, representing what I believed to be a more honest picture of the band. You can download there album like I said before via their band camp site and catch them around Columbus and decide for your self ‘
This album gets 4.00 out of 5.00 Sue Stars for rising up to a challenge and making it sound above decent.
http://marvintherobot.bandcamp.com/album/the-new-bottom-line

Thursday, March 17, 2011

R&R and are you looking for some old school?

R+R
IS this band the secret David Gilmour project? Did Gilmour give up the spotlight and sneak to Ohio to play underground contemporary but let his style slip in the music? NO, just two guys from Ohio constructing music in a Gilmour-ish vein. Don’t let that get in the way the also branch out in some more adult alt rock styles. Getting Older, I Don’t Want To Die, and I Call Your Name Love, all seem heavily influenced by 1980’s Pink Floyd but dig a little deeper in their catalogue and you find some equality interesting work. My Day has a guitar riff maybe inspired by early works by The Police, and Rin Tin Tin has an early 90’s rock garage band feel to it. As far as being a classic rock band they hit the mark well but don’t get confused by what kind of classic rock, this is not Bach rock or what rhymes with Bach. The band seems to aim for the mellower classic rock feel, not so much Rick Springfield or John (not Cougar) Mellencamp or even Journey so much as it’s that early 1980’s pre synth pre Bach reggae rhythms and they do a good job at it. Mr. Okay Mr. Okay has an Alice in Chains sound so maybe their influences’ go a lot further than the first few songs on their player would give, and you might just find something you like too. Being a classic band tin Ohio in a local music scene that pushes very progressively forward in both rock and art they kick it back old school without being a band that has to showcase what kind of covers they do to get the audiences attention.
3.75/5 Sue stars and I say check them out if you are into the classic rock mellow sound but don’t just take my word for it , form your own opinion.
http://www.myspace.com/rrbadmouth2

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Of Human and panty droppers

Hey kids let’s take a look at an up and coming band OF HUMAN a four piece form Columbus an you may have heard them on the Blitz’s choose it or loose it contest. They have an album on iTunes called Pacify but let’s just take a look at the band first. Go to there myspace page and you see very hip very trendy pictures of the band, giving us an idea of what we are dealing with right away, image. Now the singer does have some skills, well the whole band seems very proficient at what they do in a technical way. but what bout substance? Sure the band has the whole screamo emo nu rock style down but that’s it. The song Pacify is filled with the singer hitting the highs and heavy guitar riffs and drum hits but what is the song really saying other than how look good we are? Say Goodbye Society gets a little bit deeper but deeper in a kiddy pool kind of way, I’m sure I heard this song before from a band called Disturbed or random band from the nu rock section of the Blitz. Third Degree Homecoming shows off some of the drummers skills but once again the band has been put through some musical jell mold., and any artistic creative skills seem secondary to writing a panty dropper. The lead guitar player has a future but I would suggest he find a band where he can show off his skills and become a more prominent figure in the creative writing process and experiment more, not just rehashing clich├ęd hooks from popular rock off the past ten years. If you want to have some background music and hear some panty droppers while you look dreamingly into the eyes of their pictures but it doesn’t work on this chic. I would like to see this band move in a more experimental or darker area, maybe even get a dirtier sound as the clean processed recordings they have also add to that plastic manufactured vibe they give off. Maybe they hope to hit a Warped tour or sell some Vans in a commercial and that’s their goal, to that I say you have a future in marketing but not in artistic compositions.
3/5 Sue stars mostly because they play well but that’s all I think they do well but hey check them out yourself and form your own opinion.
 
http://www.myspace.com/ofhumanmusic

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

Stakerazis and Craigslist just some funny stuff

Attack of the Stalkeratzi and Craigslist anonymous asshole#567483
So I have been accused of writing very poorly and with bad grammar and run on sentences, did you catch that, I bet you did. I have received massive amounts of penis pictures, hate mail and very strong opinionated views on the way I write. I think that ironic I never saw a show on critics of critics have you? I could be onto something there maybe I should call the Dispatch and say hey, you have to do a new column on critics. My writing style is a little different then most , but not that much more different than say Hemmingway or Heller , both authors that not only ignored the rule for cutting up run on sentences but seemingly loved to use the m. If you ever heard a critic talk like say on the radio you might notice that thy too speak in very long sentences , but I guess in today’s h-speed world of ADD and porn people just do not have the time to read long sentences. Now I know I do not write as well as the authors I mentioned but I do believe that I really haven’t broken any grammar rules , and if I have so fucking what. I am writing about music and yes music has rules but like any art the rules are often broken. Now let’s take a look at what some people have said about me and this blog. Jeff the stalker I mean critic from Toledo ( why he’s looking on the Columbus Craigslist kind of shows how much time this musician has to spend on music) pointed out some errors that I corrected but then continued to write , have a look
“Is this some kind of joke? I clicked on the link and read some of your blog. Please....tell me this is a joke!

The grammar, spelling, and punctuation skills displayed on that blog are of a third grade level at best!
What I am Blogging and Bernie's Bagels and Deli
"Blogging" has two "g's" in it! The TITLE of your blog has a glaring misspelling in it, for crying' out loud!

"Well fist let me get into what I plan to do with this blog, my mission statement or goal here."

FIST? Seriously...FIST? Besides the fact that your very first "sentence" contains another glaring misspelling...it isn't even a grammatically-correct sentence!

And your blog just contains more and more and more of this nonsense.

Don't you think that before you offer your services as a writer...you should actually learn how to write? Why, oh why, would anyone want a review written by someone that has a misspelled word in the TITLE of their blog?

Good grief. I really hope this is a joke. Hey...if it is...ya got me! ...ha, ha ha.

JEFF TUCKER & ON THE BEACH
(419) 478-0305
e-mail: onthebeachband@sbcglobal.net
website: www.onthebeachband.com “
Here is how I responded, not in the best of light but you know everyone’s is a critic
“Sue Collins to Jeff
show details Mar 4 (5 days ago)
Hey thanks jeff I did misspell first well sometimes you mess things up and spellchecker did not catch it. As far as bog goes I did fix that too however until Webster’s actually prints blog or blogging I think it might a little too early to say a word made up of two words (web and log) is an actual word like say ain't or woudja or couldja and it might just be slang, even if wikipedia says so. Now of course I being a woman would need a man from Toledo to correct her, so thanks again for pointing out some errors I am sure someone like you has never made a mistake and thank you for having some balls man ape to email me and let me know. Also I can't believe my bloggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg already reached Toledo and ha already caused a person on Craigslist to feel the need to point out their superiority, but it make me feel nice. Also your display of the BBB rating in your email is unimpressive it's not that hard to get an A+ once you join and it just further displays your primal need to show male dominance to a little girl .”
And because Jeff’s ego is not going to let that go he took the time to respond with
“It is somewhat telling that a person who thinks they have the authority to review other people and the work of other people is: a) such a poor writer, and b) incredibly thin-skinned.

Apparently, you think you have what it takes to "dish it out". But obviously, you don't have what it takes to "take it".

For your information, my BBB rating appears at the top of every original e-mail that I send....it's part of my "e-mail signature".

Also...for your information....if you click on the link that takes you to our BBB rating, you'll discover that On the Beach is NOT a BBB-affiliated business. That means we're not a BBB "member", and have never paid the BBB one single penny.

My BBB rating doesn't display any sort of "primal need"...it just serves to illustrate that I operate a legitimate business, and have done so for many years. I don't doubt for a second that such a concept is unimpressive to you.” And of course he fell for my dig on him proving that yes I was correct in pointing out he has an ego problem and he can’t stand a little girls opinion.
He wrote some more but I blocked him because once you realize someone is a potential stalker you should avoid all contact with that person… And here I believe might be the same guy might not but he doesn’t even have the balls to email me, probably knows better then to let me get his email.
“I’m really and truly not trying to hate on you, but it makes me very angry when someone bags on a musician or venue that proves to have no room to talk. Please, please, please get help with your writing before posting. (Maybe I can help, who knows?) The venues will appreciate it, and you will stop getting blasted for putting yourself out there as a writer when you are clearly not. I actually kind of liked a couple of your descriptions (i.e. "twisted Bob Hope") but it is lost when it is so difficult to understand what is being said because the writing is not up to par.

Here's your explanation: "Second let me say that this blog is just my opinion and something new and different I am trying so if you don’t like it or think it’s written at a third grade level or see a typo know some things here, it’s just my opinion and that’s all you should always judge for your self and I am just trying to get some bands and venues reviewed from my perspective and not one of a pandering local music writer , I need to write at a basic level so everyone can understand it ,like the Dispatch or almost any other newspaper and please don’t blow up my email with hate mail trying to argue with me you stalkers."

1. The blog is not new or different. It's the same as anyone else who is giving an opinion about local places, only it's very hard to understand.
2. There is a HUGE difference between "writing at a basic level" and "writing clearly, concisely, and grammatically correctly." The paragraph I quoted even needs a serious re-write and you really, really, really should consider using an editor to help you out. I will agree that the writing is "at a basic level" in that there are common mistakes that any 7th grader should be able to fix.
3. From a review on your site: "rift" is a fight that people get into, "riff" is a set of notes strung together that musicians use.
4. Not sure that "pandering" is the word that suits the point being made, is it?
5. The Dispatch would not print the reviews in their current state of poor writing. Sorry.
6. People are not "arguing" with you, people are trying to assist you. When a person puts herself out there as a writer and wants people to ask her to review them, one can't believe that poor writing wouldn't get a response.

So, if you've read all the way to here (and I hope you have) then perhaps consider either A) take the advice and help offered, or B)stop posting your work on Craig's List if you don't want the "Grammar Police" to "stalk" you. Good luck!

And here is one from the website Donewaitng .com
Strange Tales for Late At Night-Casey Redmond [delete]
Okay [delete] Let’s take a walk down a strange path of humor and rockabilly horror shows [ed. how do you ‘walk down’ a horror show?] with Casey Redmond from the Columbus area. [delete. replace: with Columbus' Casey Redmond.] Casey is a one-man band who plays guitar and the juice harp while singing about werewolves, witches and - my favorite - Superman’s cousin Larry. Casey has the rockabilly / fifties' style of rock down. His recorded [delete] vocals come [add: across] as a country singer rockabilly great [delete] [ed.'country crooner?'] something like [delete. add: meets] a twisted Bob Hope telling you a story of how his mother is a witch [delete] . His guitar tones move back [delete] from electro acoustic to straight rock accordingly and [delete. new sentence.] I think I heard a Billy Idol riff in there for added humor [delete] add 'effect' . He incorporates samples on his recording [delete] to recreate a rocking [delete. replace with 'a sort of'] Halloween record for the ages, “Strange Tales for Late at Night” that doesn’t need the fall season or costumed holiday to be listened to or enjoyed. His sense of humor is somewhat witty (ed. as opposed to a sense of humor that lacks wit?) ,as can be heard on "King of Roswell High ’65" and [delete. new sentece] His Halloween party music [delete] influence is reflected well in "Something in the Woods" then he [delete. new sentence: He then] breaks into a 60’s [delete. replace: sixties.] desert out west [delete] rock feel [delete. replace: territory] with "Bela Lugosi’s Grave.". He takes a good dig at Scooby Doo [ed. those good ole' Scooby Doo digs never fall out of fashion] in "Haunted House movie Plot 101" in some sort of harmonica surf rock mashup#, and gets a little bit bluesy in "Bowling with Godzilla." Casey also does [delete. performs] covers by Chuck Berry, the Stones, Carl Perkins and a few others and I'll bet he can do an awesome, authentic " House of the Rinsing [Rising] Sun" version and [delete. new sentence] If not, he should. All [delete] His songs seem to take you back to the 50’ [delete. replace: fifties.] but still have modern humor, so you don’t feel like you are at your grandpa’s house [ed. guilding the grandpa]. I’m sure he has a hard time finding gigs in Columbus and that’s too bad [ed. why?]. If you dig rockabilly and Halloween you should check Casey out. You can see him at the Village Tavern in Kirkersville on March 11th and find his record "Strange Tales for Late at Night" on iTunes, Amazon, Napster and CD baby.
Casey [delete. replace with "Strange Tales for Late at Night"] gets 4 out of 5 Sue Stars and his [delete. new sentence. replace: The] album Strange Tales for Late at Night [delete] gets a big fat [delete] "Buy this" stamp from Sue.
If you look closely you can see where he had a few typos in his edits showcasing his awesome editing skills.
Now they both took the time to not only read the blogs but, in the first posting critique it and the second retype what I have written. Also hey man you from the Methodists you wouldn’t get a good review from me and your edits on my blog are really just matters of opinion . Now I will give you a little credit you did find like two grammar errors but that’s all.
And once again if I did type something wrong or if my grammar seems a little funny to you well we both know these simple words could work.” Dear Sue I Don’t like you.” Now if my blog offends your male ego , and all that choose to respond with this crap were male, then I suggest you do what I did and write a blog and man did I see some very tiny dicks in those emails.
So unfortunately I don’t have a lot of ways to get people to look at my blog and local acts in Columbus don’t have a lot of ways to get attention without Craigslist, and like Billy the Cool and the Whips say” People on Craigslist are assholes.”

Saturday, March 5, 2011

Casey Redmond's album Strange Tales For A Late Night

Strange Tales for Late At Night-Casey Redmond
Okay let’s take a walk down a strange path of humor and rockabilly horror shows with Casey Redmond from the Columbus area. Casey is a one man band who plays guitar and the “juice-harp” while singing about werewolves, witches and my favorite Superman’s Cousin Larry. Casey has the rockabilly slash 50’s rock style down. His recorded vocals come out as a country singer rockabilly great and something like a twisted Bob Hope telling you a story of how his mother is a witch. His guitar tones move back from electro acoustic to straight rock accordingly and I think I heard a Billy Idol rift in there for added humor. He incorporates samples on his recording to recreate a rocking Halloween record, “Strange Tales for Late at Night” that doesn’t need the fall season or costumed holiday to be listened to or enjoyed. His sense of humor is somewhat witty as heard in King of Roswell High ’65 and his Halloween party music influence is reflected well in Something in the Woods then he breaks into a 60’s desert out west rock feel with Bela Lugosi’s Grave.. He takes a good dig at Scooby Doo in Haunted House movie Plot 101 in some sort of harmonica surf rock mashup , and gets a little bit bluesy in Bowling with Godzilla. Casey also does covers by Chuck Berry the Stones and Carl Perkins and a few others and I bet he can do an awesome authentic House of the Rinsing Sun version and if not he should. All his songs seem to take you back to the 50’ but still have modern humor so you don’t feel like you are at your grandpa’s house. I’m sure he has a hard time finding gigs in Columbus and that’s too bad. If you dig rockabilly and Halloween you should check Casey out. You can see him at the Village Tavern in Kirkersville on March 11th and find his record Strange Tales for Late at Night on iTunes, Amazon, Napster and CD baby.
Casey gets 4 out of 5 sue stars and his album Strange Tales for Late at Night gets a big fat Buy This stamp from Sue.


http://www.myspace.com/caseyredmond1 4/5 Sue stars

Your Average Criminals

 http://www.myspace.com/youraveragecriminals 3/5 Sue stars
Hello Kids, first let me say thanks for the kind words and the responses I received. You guys rock. Second let me say that this blog is just my opinion and something new and different I am trying so if you don’t like it or think it’s written at a third grade level or see a typo know some things here, it’s just my opinion and that’s all you should always judge for your self and I am just trying to get some bands and venues reviewed from my perspective and not one of a pandering local music writer , I need to write at a basic level so everyone can understand it ,like the Dispatch or almost any other newspaper and please don’t blow up my email with hate mail trying to argue with me you stalkers. Whew.
Your average Criminals Okay that said let’s start with the somewhat new band on the Columbus scene Your Average Criminals a three piece playing something like ska punk rock lite fun. It’s not really ska but it has that kind of beat in the rhythm. The guitar work on the demos I heard uses about the same setting on the amp and has that thick juicy click clack when he jams harder for emphasis and the slightly distorted muddy sounds when he is softer and keeping the rhythm as in their song Love to Hate to Love to Hate and switches to a more collared shirt rock akin to Ween in the song Rule the Sun. The singer gives off the same vibe begging with some dual vocals in the song Better in Black and ending with the Weenish styles again. Sometimes the phrasing seems a little tired or unenthusiastic but I wonder if the band is just playing it cool, sarcastic mellow like a sarcastic lounge song in punk styling’s. The songs are not fast but still have that ironic smirk attitude that comes with the collard shirt rock of later Devo and Ween without the insane effects and weird subject matter. The tunes are a little catchy and the singer does do well at throwing you a hook or two and the drummer keeps it well timed but nothing over the top just straight beats with good rolls here and there. I only got to hear the demos on their myspace page but I can see the actual pro recordings being a little bit flashier and not so muddy. I would check them out live and probably will to give a live show review but would like to see them develop their style, their sound a little bit more before I judge them so to be fair the demos might be a bad recording the songs might lack a little umph but the style is there hidden behind the recording quality and I can see them writing some really good material soon, and wonder what they sound like on their upcoming recording. Right now I will give them 3 out 5 stars and wish them good luck I think they can pull something off and you can check them out April 7th at Circus Columbus and tell me what you think.

Thursday, March 3, 2011

What I am Blogging and Bernie's Bagels and Deli

Well first let me get into what I plan to do with this blog, my mission statement or goal here. I seem to see a lack of people telling a story of what really is going on in Columbus. I see a few secret circles (as I call them) controlling what gets played who gets heard what gets headlined and what gets to play at Comfiest. I see a few people attempt to write about the local scene in Columbus with some honesty but I suspect they are heavily influenced still by their friends in the bands they write about --and the secret circles--in Columbus ( hipsters, etc). Well I can do that too. The plan here is to bring to light some of the bands I think need mentioning and some honest opinions of them and the venues they play at. Minus the influence of any secret circle as I am an outsider not influenced by the local radio stations or the bands or bandaids . I might come off as a groupie for some of the bands ,but I'm not. I might come off as a hater to some of the bands, but I'm not . I'm just not following the local secret tide of what "me and my friends do this weekend" .Saying that; if you would like to submit your bands music, have me come to a live show, or your venue then send an email mp3s and invites to sueme17@gmail.com.

Bernie's Bagels and Deli

1896 N High St
Columbus, OH

For my first review I would like to repost the review I made for city search on the not so fabulous but for some reason ironic I mean Iconic spot Bernie's' Bagels.

Bernie's, well-The food is- okay. I prefer a Ruben with a little more dressing, but it's good. The deli side is nice and mostly clean. It's non smoking and the cooks look clean ,L.A. clean that is. At first the place will look good to you drawing in the local students as a deli with a bar. A bar that serves beer (duh) and has a stage. I guess that's what you call the thing in the corner.

No, my experiences at Bernie's were not as happy or enjoyable as the other reviews (in citysearch) and I think that might have to do with the secret circles in Columbus promoting itself. First there is no matter what time you go to a gig or show or people playing something like music (depends what night) always a puddle of urine in the back hallway. Luckily, I don't have to use the men's room and I decided never to use the ladies room again.

The bands that play there are hit or miss and I wonder exactly how much take home pay the bands get when the regulars come in the back door without getting charged. The sound guy seems to do his job well when he is actually in the sound room not smoking or chugging beers down. I got a look at the equipment a few times and you better bring your own ,that's if they let you . I don't understand what a band is thinking in such a tiny little urine smelling room playing music so loud with such bad acoustics that the only people that can make anything out are the people outside smoking on the patio not listening to you because they are about to play there music or about to go to a house party. I would not recommend this place to any band and unless you already have a good following that likes your band or just want to get super drunk and scream, if not find another spot. But since some really cool people have played through there and since I seem to keep going there once a month, I give it two stars. Like I said , it's better than your moms basement.
I would like to see Bernie's redo the bar stage half. They don't have to light up the place but a little improvement could go long way. The stickers on the wall give that authentic cool indie punk feel and the stickers are from actual bands that played there so that's cool. Maybe some new paint wouldn’t hurt and some plumbing and doors on the bathroom stalls. They could expand there draft beers and FYI the it's hip to drink PBR thing will fade and Blue moon makes me think I'm drinking orange cleaner and dust fuzz and really Bernie's you don't come of as a specialty beer bar even if your clientele think so. Give it the real indie rock beer feel yes PBR’s ( for now) but tell the bartender not to get snooty when someone wants a bud draft or tries to order something like a Natty in a can the people in your neighborhood aren’t all exactly carrying large amounts of fun cash . It might be a good idea to stop paying for under par sound people and pick some that aren’t mad and won't complain to the audience and get something going on the back door at every show the bands and the sound men deserved to get something out of their time even if you have a large list of bands wanting to get a gig. It wouldn’t take too much to turn Bernie's back into a place where Columbus could be proud of for underground music and not just the dirty niche bar it seems to have become.
2 out of 5 stars